Register  |  Sign In
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:17 am

Reply to topic  [ 182 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
 Hedge funds vs Retail traders (Gamestop, AMC, etc) 
Defeats all expectations

Post Hedge funds vs Retail traders (Gamestop, AMC, etc)
Hedge funds were shorting Gamestop and AMC. Retail traders bet against them and bought the stocks in droves. Stock prices surged and forced hedge funds to liquidate their portfolios to cover the losses.

Is this a fundamental shift in stock trading? Hedge funds and insiders are no longer the major market manipulators? I am no expert on this. Why did it seem so easy to manipulate the market?

Wed Jan 27, 2021 5:31 pm
Devil's Advocate

Post Re: Hedge funds vs Retail traders (Gamestop, AMC, etc)
It sounds to me like the hedge funds were shorting companies like Gamestop knowing that they could spread negative information about them to tank the stock, so a subreddit got together to fuck them over by buying it and making it go up like crazy instead.

Edit - After reading some more it's possible the reddit influence was overrated and it was just a stock where 85% of people were shorting it, so as soon as it starts going up there is a snowball effect of people jump off the shorting train the same way that a stock that's too high could crash if people start selling it. But reddit could have had something to with starting that.

Wed Jan 27, 2021 5:48 pm
Defeats all expectations

When retail traders band together, they can force the hand of Wall Street sellers.

Wed Jan 27, 2021 7:36 pm
The Kramer

I had 100+ shares of GME that I sold back in September for $7.70 ... Not sure I’ll ever forgive myself for that.

Wed Jan 27, 2021 11:47 pm
Don't Dream It, Be It

Too late on the GameStop surge. And don't really want to risk going in on AMC even though it's not a "bad" price.

I did, however, go invest in Nokia today. *Fingers crossed*.